PARC NATUREL REGIONAL DE LORRAINE
©C2 Images

PARC NATUREL REGIONAL DE LORRAINE

Contact

1 RUE DU QUAI
54702 PONT-A-MOUSSON Cedex

03 83 81 67 67

contact@pnr-lorraine.com

More information

THE LORRAINE REGIONAL NATURAL PARK

A nugget of the region, the Regional Natural Park of Lorraine extends over a territory of nearly 210,000 hectares and includes no less than 183 municipalities located on either side of the Nancy-Metz axis and spread over the departments of the Meuse, Moselle and Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Two main areas stand out:

  • To the east, an area rich in ponds and salt-tolerant areas stretches from Château-Salins to Sarrebourg.
  • To the west, the Côtes de Meuse, Côtes de Toul and Côtes de Moselle with their forests, meadows, vineyards and wetlands of the Woëvre stretch from Metz and Jarny in the north to Toul in the south.

To the east as to the west, the PNRL works to protect natural environments that are home to rich flora, fauna and landscapes in Lorraine and which constitute real reservoirs of biodiversity.

A link between Man and Nature, the park promotes both the environmental and cultural riches of its territory and invites its visitors to discover them thanks to slow tourism:

  • activities and discovery outings
  • hiking
  • bike rides
  • observation and discovery of birds on landscaped trails and ornithological observatories (Madine, Lachaussée, Le Lindre)
  • local products to be found in shops labeled “Boutiques du Parc”
  • etc

THE PNRL AND THE TERRES TOULOISES

The Terres Touloises community of municipalities has no less than twenty municipalities on its territory that are part of the Regional Natural Park of Lorraine. The city of Toul is in itself one of the major gateway cities of the PNRL.

The Côtes de Meuse and Toul, the Plaine de la Woëvre and the Côtes de Moselle shape the territory of the Community of Communes Terres Touloises with their magnificent forests, orchards, ponds and meadows divided between plateau, valleys and embankments.

Nuggets of the territory, the Forêt de la Reine and the Etangs de la Woëvre constitute a true reserve of biodiversity where fish farming has been practiced for centuries and where ornithological tourism is gradually developing. Several sites of these two natural entities have also been classified as world heritage wetlands!

The relationship between people and nature is most remarkable along the Côtes de Toul, where vines have been cultivated since Antiquity and where many winegrowers await visitors to let them taste their productions. Other emblematic sites of the Côtes de Toul, the Roises site and the Maison de la Polyculture in Lucey testify to centuries of agriculture and hemp cultivation in particular.

NATURE TOURS

Since 2022 and as part of a quality approach in nature tourism and ecotourism, the Regional Natural Park of Lorraine offers you the opportunity to discover its wonders over the course of thematic visits in the company of nature guides, specialists in fauna, flora, landscapes or even local history.

These nature outings are done in small groups of a maximum of fifteen people and can be found on the PNRL agenda.

The Terres Touloises Tourist Office has a nature guide specialized in the territory of the Terres Touloises Community of Communes and offering thematic visits (in French) at different times of the year (find the visits here).

  • Lakes - Ponds - Bodies of water
  • Alluvial valleys - Rivers - Streams
  • Peatlands - Marshes - Salt plains
  • Forests - Remarkable trees
  • Caves - Caverns - Quarries
  • Calcareous grasslands, wet meadows
  • Meadows and damp forests
  • Observatoires ornithologiques
  • Zone halophile continentale
  • Regional country park
  • RAMSAR
  • Natura 2000
  • Visit on your own at all times

PARC NATUREL REGIONAL DE LORRAINE
©C2 Images

PARC NATUREL REGIONAL DE LORRAINE

Contacter

1 RUE DU QUAI
54702 PONT-A-MOUSSON Cedex

03 83 81 67 67

contact@pnr-lorraine.com

En savoir plus

LE PARC NATUREL RÉGIONAL DE LORRAINE

Pépite de la région, le Parc Naturel Régional de Lorraine s'étend sur un territoire de près de 210000 hectares et comprend pas moins de 183 communes situées de part et d'autre de l'axe Nancy-Metz et réparties sur les départements de la Meuse, de la Moselle et de la Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Deux grandes zones se distinguent :

  • A l'Est, une zone riche en étangs et zones halophiles s'étend de Château-Salins à Sarrebourg.
  • A l'Ouest, les Côtes de Meuse, les Côtes de Toul et les Côtes de Moselle avec leurs forêts, prairies, vignobles, et zones humides de la Woëvre s'étendent de Metz et Jarny au nord jusqu'à Toul au sud.

A l'est comme à l'ouest, le PNRL s'emploie à protéger des milieux naturels abritant une faune, une flore et des paysages lorrains riches et constituant de véritables réservoirs de biodiversité. 

Trait d'union entre l'Homme et la Nature, le parc valorise à la fois les richesses environnementales et culturelles de son territoire et invite ses visiteurs à découvrir celles-ci grâce au slow tourisme : 

  • animations et sorties de découverte
  • randonnées pédestres
  • balades à vélo
  • observation et découverte des oiseaux sur sentiers aménagés et observatoires ornithologiques (Madine, Lachaussée, Le Lindre)
  • produits locaux à retrouver dans les boutiques labellisées « Boutiques du Parc »
  • etc.

 

LE PNRL ET LES TERRES TOULOISES

La communauté de communes Terres Touloises compte sur son territoire pas moins d'une vingtaine de communes s'inscrivant dans le Parc Naturel Régional de Lorraine. La ville de Toul constitue en elle-même une des grandes villes-portes du PNRL.

Les Côtes de Meuse et de Toul, la Plaine de la Woëvre et les Côtes de Moselle façonnent le territoire de la Communauté de Communes Terres Touloises avec leurs magnifiques forêts, vergers, étangs et prairies se répartissant entre plateau, vallons et talus.

Pépites du territoire, la Forêt de la Reine et les Etangs de la Woëvre constituent une véritable réserve de biodiversité où la pisciculture est pratiquée depuis des siècles et où le tourisme ornithologique se développe peu à peu. Plusieurs sites de ces deux entités naturelles ont d'ailleurs été classés au patrimoine mondial des zones humides !

La relation entre les hommes et la nature est la plus remarquable le long des Côtes de Toul où l'on cultive la vigne depuis l'Antiquité et où de nombreux viticulteurs attendent les visiteurs pour leur faire déguster leurs productions. Autres sites emblématiques des Côtes de Toul, le site des Roises et la Maison de la Polyculture de Lucey témoignent de siècles d'agriculture et de culture du chanvre notamment.

VISITES NATURE

Depuis 2022 et dans le cadre d'une démarche de qualité en tourisme de nature et écotourisme, le Parc Naturel Régional de Lorraine vous propose de partir à la découverte de ses merveilles au fil de visites thématiques en la compagnie de guides accompagnateurs nature, spécialistes de la faune, la flore, les paysages ou bien encore l'histoire locale.

Ces sorties natures se font en petits groupes d'une quinzaine de personnes maximum et sont à retrouver sur l'agenda du PNRL.

La Maison du tourisme Terres Touloises possède un guide nature spécialisé sur le territoire de la Communauté de communes Terres Touloises et proposant des visites thématiques (en français) à différents moments de l'année (retrouvez les visites ici).

 

  • Lacs - Etangs - Plans d'eau
  • Vallées alluviales - Rivières - Cours d'eau
  • Tourbières - Marais - Prés salés
  • Forêts - Arbres remarquables
  • Rocher - Grottes - Cavernes - Carrières
  • Pelouses calcaires
  • Prairies et forêts humides
  • Observatoires ornithologiques
  • Zone halophile continentale
  • Parc naturel régional (PNR)
  • RAMSAR
  • Natura 2000
  • Visites libres